Record Kicks

Record Kicks Rare Box Set: 10 Various 45's

Regular price £95.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £95.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Record Kicks celebrates its 20th Anniversary with a limited edition "Rare Box Set" consisting of ten 45 vinyl with the very best of the label's catalogue.

2023 is a special year for Record Kicks: the Milan-based independent label turns 20 years old. In order to celebrate this great achievement, Record Kicks is proud to announce the release of a limited edition "Rare Box Set", coming out on March 3rd and containing 20 tracks on 10 "rare" 45 vinyl that retrace the story of these past 20 years of Record Kicks. The boxset is limited to 500 copies worldwide and it will also be released on digital format on that same day, March 3rd. The artwork by Japanese artist Ruminz is an homage to Afro-American culture. Of the 20 tracks on the "Rare Boxset", 11 tracks are previously unreleased on 45 vinyl, while 9 are reissues of mega in-demand gems.

Among the tracks released for the first time on 45, you'll find label's Funk & Soul heavyweights such as "Easy To Come Home" by Sydney funk maestros Dojo Cuts, "Your Love is Mine" by British funk band The New Mastersounds feat Corinne Bailey Rae and remixed by Nostalgia 77, "50 Foot Woman" by Hannah Williams & The Affirmations, "Soul Connection" by The Diplomats of Solid Sound and "Soul of My Life" by The Tibbs. For the first time on 45 vinyl, there are also two singles from the masters of Cinematic funk Calibro 35: "Stainless Steel" from their legendary album "Traitors" and "Ungwana Bay Launch Complex" from "S.P.A.C.E.", The Diasonics with "Andromeda", taken from their debut album "Origin Of Forms", and Whatitdo Archive Group's "Blood Chief" from the band's album "The Black Stone Affair".


On the reissue's front, among the rare tracks that by popular demand finally see the light again on 45 vinyl we find: the afrofunk cover of The Artic Monkeys' "I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor" by Baby Charles, JB's classic "Soul Power" by Kokolo remixed by Lack Of Afro, The Bluebeaters with "Catch That Teardrop" and "Toxic (One Drop Version)" singles, northern soul floorshaker "I'm a Good Woman" by Hannah Williams & The Tastemakers and deep funk stormer "I'm Not Your Regular Woman" by Marta Ren & The Groovelvets.

A. Dojo Cuts - Easy to Come Home feat. Roxy Ray 
B. The Tibbs - Soul Of My Life 
A. The Diasonics - Andromeda 
B. Whatitdo Archive Group - Blood Chief 
A. Calibro 35 - Stainless Steel 
B. Calibro 35 - Ungwana Bay Launch Complex
A. The New Mastersounds - Your Love Is Mine feat Corinne Bailey Rae (77 rmx) 
B. Gizelle Smith - June (TM Juke rmx) 
A. Hannah Williams & The Tastemakers - I'm A Good Woman 
B. Hannah Williams & The Affirmations - 50 Foot Woman 
A. Marta Ren - I'm Not Your Regular Woman 
B. Martha High - Answer To Mother Popcorn 
A. Kokolo Afrobeat Orchestra - Soul Power (Lack Of Afro Rmx) 
B. Tanika Charles - Soul Run 
A. The Diplomats Of Solid Sound - Soul Connection 
B. Trio Valore - Rehab 
A. Baby Charles - I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor 
B. The Liberators  - The Directive 
A. The Bluebeaters - Catch That Teardrop
B. The Bluebeaters - Toxic (One Drop Version)